TheVirtualInstructor.com Forum

Help for Beginner Please

ramari

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
Help for Beginner Please
« on: January 23, 2014, 02:03:06 AM »
Hi There Everyone,
My name is Ramari and I am from New Zealand, I am a "Newbie" both to this site and painting, but would like to Thank Matt for creating it.   I have never had any art instruction at all, not even at school so would like some help please.  Could you please critique my paintings.  The multicolored one is called a Manaia and his colors are suppose to resemble the New Zealand paua.  The white and black painting I call 'Whanau' meaning Family. 
Thank you all very much this is much appreciated.

Ladyeight29

• +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Help for Beginner Please
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 02:30:05 PM »
Hi I'm new to the art thing I don't paint I like graphite and am working my way to colored pencils. But I think your paintings are very unique and interesting to look at. I like them very much. The uniqueness (is that a word?) is what I like the most. They tell a lot about who you are. Replies around here are few and far between. But good luck and stay with your one of a kind style.
 ;)

ramari

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 03:08:20 PM »
Thank you Ladyeight29, your comments are much appreciated :D.  I think your drawings are fantastic too!!
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 03:10:00 PM by ramari »

• Matt
  • +15/-1
  • I draw.
    • View Profile
    • TheVirtualInstructor.com
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2014, 01:39:51 AM »
Wow!  Love them.  Great use of positive and negative space.  There are many colors on the top piece but the shape really unifies things.  The bottom work is graphically strong.  I especially like the play between the blacks and whites in the lower portion of the work. 

ramari

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2014, 03:15:49 AM »
Thank you so much Matt, that is much appreciated and now I can't wait to start the next one.   :D