TheVirtualInstructor.com Forum

Help needed to decide on pencils upgrade

isanbill

• +3/-0
    • View Profile
« on: March 12, 2015, 09:36:57 PM »
When I started drawing about a year ago, I bought a set of VERY cheap graphite pencils. I didn't want to spend a lot of money just to find out if I would like drawing or not. Now I know and want to continue and I am getting to the point where I feel the lack of quality in these pencils. So I decided to upgrade my tools but the choices out there are huge and very confusing. So I need help.

My questions are: what brand is the best quality for the price? Is there a big difference between brands such as Derwent, General's, Primacolor, etc? Should I get a full set or individual pencils? I travel a lot: should I get mechanical pencils for convenience? What do you use and why?

Any insights on those questions would be very helpful. Thank you
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 09:44:45 PM by isanbill »

• Matt
  • +14/-1
  • I draw.
    • View Profile
    • TheVirtualInstructor.com
Re: Help needed to decide on pencils upgrade
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2015, 02:34:34 AM »
When I started drawing about a year ago, I bought a set of VERY cheap graphite pencils. I didn't want to spend a lot of money just to find out if I would like drawing or not. Now I know and want to continue and I am getting to the point where I feel the lack of quality in these pencils. So I decided to upgrade my tools but the choices out there are huge and very confusing. So I need help.

My questions are: what brand is the best quality for the price? Is there a big difference between brands such as Derwent, General's, Primacolor, etc? Should I get a full set or individual pencils? I travel a lot: should I get mechanical pencils for convenience? What do you use and why?

Any insights on those questions would be very helpful. Thank you

HI Isanbill,