TheVirtualInstructor.com Forum

window painting

queenmarcia

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
window painting
« on: March 09, 2013, 10:05:37 PM »
hello.  i 'm new here.  my favorite medium is colored pencil, but i am also a beginner at painting windows and have only done the ones at a friends business. he saw some of my artwork and asked if i would like to do it,so i am trying and have read lots of window painting site info.  i would like any advice i can get,  here are my problems. i can draw something on paper, shade it put in details, but when i try to paint on the glass, it's usually too transparent or when i try to paint over an area like for shading or to write lettering on a painted area, the lettering usually removes the previous paint leaving that area clear, or if it does work, its really hard to get the lines clean even with a detail brush. i have tried tempura paint after seeing people on you tube just slap it on with great success, and my best stuff has been the pens that write on terra cotta not glass and some of the american craft acrylic paint.  it seems like if you can draw on paper, why not glass. i am thinking of trying house paint. my work just looks sloppy, not precise. i did just learn some colors are more opaque, so that should help. i am paying for supplies myself as he is a nice guy and struggling to make ends meet probably more than i am.  if anyone has had success at glass painting i would appreciate benefiting from your experiences if you have time to reply.  thanks..marcia

• Matt
  • +14/-1
  • I draw.
    • View Profile
    • TheVirtualInstructor.com
Re: window painting
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 12:18:31 AM »
Hi Marcia,